Taking Possession

I promised to take care of his baby – I’ll keep her shining and scratch-free, always. My words hit his stony face and bounced off sounding hollow.

I started her up.

The humming engine filled the void between us. His eyes flickered – finally a reaction – they lingered on the red hood and then reluctantly settled on me. I saw only doubt there, and regret. I wore my smile fake and cherry-red. I waved goodbye and pulled out of his driveway in my new car.

He didn’t move, staying in my mirror all the way till I turned off the street, and even when he wasn’t in the frame anymore, I could see him standing, rooted next to the street lamp, his hands in his pockets, his eyes looking for a way out of a bad dream.

2 responses to “Taking Possession

Leave a Reply

